Introduction to the Tarot

Beginner's Guide to Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke With cards illustrated by Giovanni Caselli

Beginner’s Guide to Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke With cards illustrated by Giovanni Caselli

The deck I am using to interpret the tarot is the Beginner’s Guide to Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke, with cards Illustrated by Giovanni Caselli.

I chose to begin a blog about the tarot cards because it has been one of my interests for a long time but I have never actually gotten around to studying the cards and really ‘thinking’ about them. Doing 3 card readings for myself is all fine but I believe I am ready to take my knowledge to the next level. By studying the Major Arcana first, specifically the “fool’s journey” I believe it will help me unravel the mystery and story of the tarot.

All of my interpretations are just that; they are my own interpretations based on the images, feelings and psychological processes that come up for me when thinking about the card. Of course some cards in the Major Arcana ‘mean’ more to me than others as they tend to appear more in readings that I have done, but I believe each has a very special purpose and place in the deck.  I chose to interpret the Major Arcana before the Minor Arcana because, well essentially, it will be easier for me to look at 22 cards that tell the story of a life rather than 56 cards which haven’t quite ‘hooked’ me yet.

Based on some brief research I have learned that the Fool’s Journey through the 22 cards begins with a naïve, “young soul” and moves through life learning lessons, finding peace (temperance), encountering hardships (tower/devil cards) and finally, reaching the end in which the universe is in balance and the knowledge and capabilities acquired are earned and well deserved.

The tarot is interesting in this way because it touches on one of the most fundamentally important areas of study for me; Psychology. I am still fresh in the area of the ‘psychology of tarot’, but I do believe and feel that it can be used as a powerful tool in self-discovery; especially in the areas of symbols, the unconscious and self-understanding.

 

2 responses to “Introduction to the Tarot

  1. Hey, thanks for commenting! The sign of Virgo belongs to the Zodiac which is based on birthdays throughout the year. There are 12 Zodiac signs altogether, each with its own symbol, characteristics and falling within one of the four elements of fire, earth, air and water. Virgo (end of August to end of September birthday) is represented by a human woman, known to be hard working, critical, and “pure” or true to her own beliefs of what is right or just. Virgo falls within the earth sign category (along with Taurus-May birthdays and Capricorn-January birthdays). They are all known to be grounded, home body types and stubborn. I used to read a lot about astrology and it does have some similarities to tarot. For example, the Minor Arcana (the 55 other cards which I am not currently covering in my blog) are separated into four suits-fire, earth, air and water. The Minor Arcana is most commonly compared to the regular deck of playing cards and they are believed to have the same origins.
    Anyways, I hope this helps! There is so much more you could look into for an in depth astrological reading. Many websites have you put in your birth date, time and place and will give you a detailed description of personality traits etc. One of my favorites is Astro.com. They go into great depth explaining your sun sign (month sign) as well as moon sign and ascendant and how they all have contributing factors to your reading.
    Like tarot, I believe that astrology is a tool that you can use to give you more insight or clarity into something rather than having a ‘final’ say of who or what things are.
    Enjoy and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

